The University of Massachusetts Amherst
Robert S. Cox Special Collections & University Archives Research Center
CredoResearch digital collections in Credo

University of Massachusetts Amherst. Other UMass Campuses

(Not fully processed)

University of Massachusetts Amherst. Other Campuses

Call no.: RG 055

The University of Massachusetts system now extends to five campuses: Amherst (the flagship, founded in 1863), Boston (1964), Lowell (1975, with predecessor institutions dating to the 1890s), Worcester (the medical school, 1962), and Dartmouth (1991, but with roots beginning in 1895 with the New Bedford Textile School).

The archives at UMass Amherst include information on the founding and early administration of each the younger UMass campuses, as well as the World War II-era campus at Fort Devens. Complete records for each UMass campus are maintained

1. Fort Devens 1946-1949
1. Vice President
2. Other units
2. Medical School, Worcester
3. Boston 1964
1. Planning and Establishment pre-1965
/2. Nantucket Field Station 1963-2007
4. University of Lowell 1991-2007
5. Dartmouth 1991-2007
Formerly Southeastern Massachusetts University (SMU)


Fort Devens (Mass.)University of Massachusetts BostonUniversity of Massachusetts DartmouthUniversity of Massachusetts LowellUniversity of Massachusetts Worcester